John Hubbard receiving his award from Chairman David Simpkins

Outstanding Services to Alton Award 2020

John Hubbard

The Society is delighted to announce that their Outstanding Services to Alton Award has gone to John Hubbard. The presentation is usually made at our AGM but this is not possible this year. There is an excellent article in the Society’s Autumn Newsletter about John and these Newsletters can be found at the Alton Community Centre. He is a major linchpin in the Alton Climate Action Network and Energy Alton. He is also involved in the Repair Cafe and is Chairman of Resurrection Furniture which is linked to his Church, St Lawrence. In his spare time he enjoys gardening, walking, sailing and singing (he is a member of the Waverley Singers). He makes a huge commitment to the community of Alton.


Outstanding services to Alton Award 2019

Martin Gibbs

Martin Gibbs 2019Martin Gibbs has won our prestigious award this year. He is 68 years old, married with two daughters. He took over running the Flood Meadows Working Party in 2007 (since renamed Friends of Flood Meadows). He organises our Sunday morning sessions (see below for the next date) when the group of volunteers numbering between 10 to 20 help to keep the meadows in excellent condition. They include people of all ages and they clear debris, vegetation, litter plus repairing and building footpaths. Martin ensures they all receive tasks that match their skills. His friendly and “can do” attitude is an example to us all.


The Alton Society Award – Rules

John Ambrose Award

2020 No award given for the fifth year running.

2019 No award given for the fourth year running.

2018 No award given

2017 No Award given

2016 No Award given

2015 Wetherspoons – for the Ivy HouseIvy House

John Ambrose Award – Rules